News Read

New Board of Directors Appointed at Annual General Meeting

April 2, 2014

The proposal put forward by the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, with regard to the election of board members and reserve members for Landsvirkjun’s Board of Directors was approved today.

Elected Members of Landsvirkjun’s Board of Directors: Jónas Þór Guðmundsson, Advocate Supreme Court and Chairman of The Icelandic Bar Association, Helgi Jóhannesson, Advocate Supreme Court, Jón Björn Hákonarson, Chairman of Fjardabyggd town council, Þórunn Sveinbjarnardóttir, Executive Director at Samfylking and Álfheiður Ingadóttir, Biologist.

Elected Reserve Members of Landsvirkjun’s Board of Directors: Páley Borgþórsdóttir, Teitur Björn Einarsson, Ásta Björg Pálmadóttir, Skúli Helgason og Steinþór Heiðarsson.

The Annual General Meeting confirmed the Board of Director’s report and consolidated accounts for the past financial year. The Board’s proposal for the payment of dividends to owners in the amount of 1.5 billion ISK, for the year 2013, was also approved.

Deloitte ehf was elected as the audit company for Landsvirkjun, at the annual general meeting. This came as a result of previous recommendations by the Icelandic National Audit Office who put the audit of the financial statements for Landsvirkjun out to tender in March, 2014. Subsequently, a decision was made to sign an agreement with Deloitte ehf.

Newly elected Chairman

At the first meeting of the Board, after the annual meeting, Jónas Þór Guðmundsson was elected Chairman of the Board and Jón Björn Hákonarson was elected Vice-chairman.

News archive Print page